Compiled by: Tarence Brown, Jr. and Ellison Richardson DC Archives Interns and Lopez D. Matthews Jr.
The Office of Public Records is mandated by DC Law 6-19 and the District of Columbia Municipal Regulations, Title 1, Chapter 15, to review and approve agency records retention schedules; train records officers in implementing the policies, procedures, and guidelines of managing records; collect, store, preserve, conserve and service historical records in the custody of the Archives; collect, store and service temporary records in the custody of the Records Center; and collect, store and service publications in the custody of the Library of Government Information.
Public Records and Archive Services is managed and administered through the Office of Public Records and Archives.
Service Details:
Research Building Permits and Architectural Plans
Related Services:
Library of Government Information
Service Contact:
Office of Public Records, Administrator
Contact Email: archives@dc.gov
Contact Phone: (202) 671-1105
Contact Fax: (202) 727-6076
Contact TTY: 711
Office Hours: Monday to Friday 8:15 am to 4:45 pm
Service Location:
GIS Address:
1300 Naylor Court, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Office Hours
Monday to Friday, 9 am to 5 pm
Connect With Us
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 419, Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (202) 727-6306
Fax: (202) 727-3582
TTY: 711
Alternate Number: Notary: (202) 727-3117
Email: secretary@dc.gov
Ask the Secretary of the District of Columbia
Secretary of the District of Columbia
Multimedia Resources related to Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander American Heritage
Comcast NewsmakersA special panel discussion, where they explore the deeply rooted history of Asian American discrimination and its relationship to the current crisis of violence — and ways that activists, educators, and community leaders are joining forces to raise awareness and drive change for future generations.
Pew Research CenterIn a new Pew Research Center analysis based on 66 focus groups conducted in the fall of 2021, Asian American participants described navigating their own identity in a nation where the label “Asian” brings expectations about their origins, behavior and physical self. The participants in this companion documentary were not part of the focus group study, but were similarly sampled to tell their own stories.
Vicky Nguyen, NBC News Senior Consumer Investigative correspondent, Dominic Chu, CNBC Senior Markets correspondent and Kimmy Yam, NBC Asian America reporter, discuss who falls within the AAPI community, break down historical and recent challenges for the community in the U.S. and highlight trailblazers who have broken barriers.
In 1882, the United States Congress passed the Chinese Exclusion Act, the first federal law that restricted immigration based explicitly on nationality. In practice, the Act banned entry to all ethnically Chinese immigrants besides diplomats, and prohibited existing immigrants from obtaining citizenship. Robert Chang details the lasting impact the Act had on immigrant rights and freedoms. Lesson by Robert Chang, directed by Mohammad Babakoohi & Yijia Cao.
Moderator: David Louie, ABC7 News Reporter, KGO-TV San Francisco Speakers: 1. Judge Troy L. Nunley, US District Judge, Eastern District of California 2. Raymond Chong, President, Generations LLC, Sugar Land, Texas 3. Professor Pei-Te Lien, Political Science, UC Santa Barbara 4. Catherine Chen, Chief Executive Officer, Polaris, Washington, D.C. The speakers, a federal judge and 3 Chinese Americans (1st, 2nd, and 6th-generation), will share their personal, family, professional, and historical perspectives on what it means to be Asian American today. A 60-minute Q&A will follow their presentations.
As a lieutenant, Chew-Een Lee faced an uncommon obstacle, his men had never before seen an Asian Marine. From: UNCOMMON COURAGE: BREAKOUT AT CHOSIN http://bit.ly/1gLYbCv
The OFFICIAL YouTube channel of the National Museum of the United States Navy. The National Museum of the U.S. Navy, part of the Naval History and Heritage Command, is the only Navy museum to present an overview of U.S. naval history 1775 to the present.
Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month this May and every day with PBS, including this collection of stories that explores the food, traditions and culture of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States.
Creator(s):Ford Motor Company. (Most Recent) Series : Motion Picture Films Relating to the Ford Motor Company, the Henry Ford Family, Noted Personalities, Industry, and Numerous Americana and Other Subjects, compiled ca. 1903 - ca. 1954 Collection FC: Ford Motor Company Collection, ca. 1903 - ca. 1954 Production Date: 1924
UNUKUPUKUPU is the name of the rigorous hula curricula of Dr. Taupōuri Tangarō at Hawai'i Community College, University of Hawai'i System. Dr. Tangarō describes the crucial role the Native Hawaiian language has played throughout the history of hula. UNUKUPUKUPU is a descendant of the centuries old 'Aiha'a (Sacred Dance) traditions of Hālau O Kekuhi, Hilo, Hawai'i. Dr. Tangarō was a participant in the 2012 Campus and Community Festival program. This video was produced as part of the Hawai'i participation in the upcoming 2013 Folklife Festival program One World, Many Voices: Endangered Languages and Cultural Heritage. Stay tuned for more previews of this program. [Catalog No. CFV10493A; Copyright 2013 Smithsonian Institution]
A Marine Corps' legend, Major Kurt C. E. Lee was the first Asian American to serve as an officer in the USMC. He would be awarded the Navy Cross and Silver Star for valor during the Korean War, and go on to serve with distinction in Vietnam. He was the recipient of the AVC's 2012 Raymond G. Davis Award for his valor in Korea.
Long ago, the Hawaiian wind goddess wielded a gourd that housed the winds of the Islands. It came to hold her bones, along with the life force they carried, and was eventually passed to her grandson, Paka'a. Like his father before him, he became the trusted attendant to the king of Hawaii. But his privileged status also made him a target. Sydney Iaukea shares the tale of the king's betrayal. Lesson by Sydney Iaukea, directed by Ivana Bošnjak.
